

United Nations Environment Programme



Distr. LIMITED

UNEP/OzL.Pro/ExCom/43/57 9 June 2004 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE MULTILATERAL FUND FOR THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE MONTREAL PROTOCOL Forty-third Meeting Geneva, 5-9 July 2004

## EXPORT AND IMPORT LICENSING SYSTEMS: AN UPDATE (DECISION 41/79)

1. In Decision 41/79 the Executive Committee requested the Secretariat to prepare an updated list of countries which lacked import and export licensing systems.

2. The Ozone Secretariat informs the Parties to the Montreal Protocol at each meeting of those countries that have introduced licensing systems for ozone depleting systems (ODS) in relation to the reporting obligations of countries that have ratified the Montreal Amendment. UNEP, through its regional networks, compiles information on the status of ODS licensing systems in network member countries.

3. Current information on licensing systems has been obtained from the Ozone Secretariat (4 June 2004) and from UNEP (27 May 2004) and is presented in the Annex to this paper in the form of a negative list, that is, a list of Parties to the Montreal Protocol that have either not introduced licensing systems or have not reported on their introduction.

4. Table 1 is a list of 31 Parties to the Montreal Amendment to the Montreal Protocol that have not reported on establishment of a licensing system. Table 2 is a list of an additional 22 Parties to the Montreal Protocol that are not yet party to the Montreal Amendment and have not reported on the introduction of a licensing system.

5. The third table is a list of Parties to the Montreal Protocol that have reported to UNEP on the establishment of a licensing system, but which have not reported this officially to the Ozone Secretariat.

## Annex I

<u>Table 1</u>: Parties to the Montreal Amendment to the Montreal Protocol that have not reported the establishment of a licensing system.

1. Argentina	17. Marshall Islands
2. Bosnia and Herzegovina	18. Micronesia, Federated States of
3. Barbados	19. Nigeria
4. Cape Verde	20. Palau
5. Cyprus	21. Rwanda
6. Djibouti	22. Samoa
7. Grenada	23. Sao Tome and Principe
8. Guinea-Bissau	24. Sierra Leone
9. Guyana	25. Solomon Islands
10. Haiti	26. Somalia
11. Iceland	27. Switzerland
12. Iran, Islamic Republic of	28. Tanzania
13. Kenya	29. Tonga
14. Korea, Republic of	30. Tuvalu
15. Madagascar	31. Yemen
16. Malta	

<u>Table 2</u>: States not yet party to the Montreal Amendment to the Montreal Protocol that have not reported the establishment of a licensing system.

1. Albania	13. Kiribati
2. Angola	14. Lao People's Democratic Republic
3. Armenia	15. Lesotho
4. Bahamas	16. Liberia
5. Belgium	17. Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
6. Botswana	18. Mauritania
7. Brunei Darussalam	19. Mozambique
8. Cambodia	20. Namibia
9. Central African Republic	21. Nauru
10. Congo, Democratic Republic of the	22. Vanuatu
11. Cote D'Ivoire	
12. Dominica	

<u>Table 3</u>: Parties to the Montreal Protocol that have reported the establishment of a licensing system to UNEP but which have not reported officially to the Ozone Secretariat.

1. Ethiopia	6. Serbia and Montenegro
2. Kyrgyzstan	7. Turkmenistan
3. Latvia	8. Uzbekistan
4. Saint Kitts & Nevis	9. Viet Nam
5. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	